Buckinghamshire Railway Centre Logo

BRC Website Home
Quainton Virtual Stockbook
Quainton News Archive - Quainton News No. 100 - October 2008

August Bank Holiday Pre 78 Rally - 25.8.08 - Dave Potter

As with last year our prayers for fine weather for the Pre 78 August Bank Holiday Rally resulted in a fine day. Again, the standard of vehicles was to a fine standard and a total of 220 vehicles were registered by 1 pm when judging commenced. Trophies were presented at 4 pm to:

1st Ken Sparkes 1953 Sunbeam Alpine
2nd D Heard 1956 Ford Popular
3rd P Bristow 1977 Triumph Stag
1st B Brown 1928 Leyland Bus
2nd G Bartlett 1946 Bedford MLD
3rd D Geary 1946 Austin Champ
Blood Sweat and Tears:
  L Turnham 1960 BMW Isetta 300
Ted Rogers Memorial Trophy:
  B Brown 1928 Leyland Bus
1st Pre-War C Morris    
1st Post-War T Goodall 1962 BSA Golden Flash
2nd P A Langridge 1963 Velocette Venom
3rd P Langridge 1959 Velocette Venom
Derek Addison Cup:
Not Presented      
  H Andermahr 1933 Morgan

Grateful thanks are due to those who gave up their time to assist on the day and to Bev for coping with the organisation in spite of constant eye problems.

qn_100_07.jpg (23,929 bytes)
qn_100_08.jpg (21,356 bytes)
qn_100_09.jpg (22,274 bytes)

Dave Potter - A small sample of the impressive display of vehicles

The text in this Quainton Railway Society publication was written in 2008 and so does not reflect events in the 6+ years since publication. The text and photographs are repeated verbatim from the original publication, with only a few minor grammar changes but some clarifying notes are added if deemed necessary. The photos from the original publication are provided as scans in this internet version of this long out of print publication.

August Bank Holiday Pre 78 Rally - 25.8.08 - Dave Potter - Quainton News No. 100 - October 2008

Text © Quainton Railway Society / Photographs © Quainton Railway Society or referenced photographer
Email Webmaster
Page Updated: 02 December 2017